Free Rhode Island Rental Lease Agreement


Rhode Island Rental Lease Agreement

If you are looking for a residential rental unit in Rhode Island or making plans to get into the real estate business in the state of Rhode Island, you need to know the rental laws as well as your obligations and rights. In this article, we look at the most important things to check before signing a rental lease agreement in Rhode Island:

  • The Official Rules and Regulations

    • Residential Landlord and Tenant Act – § 34-18

    • Limitation o

    • f Actions – § 9-1-13

  • Security Deposit

    • The security deposit Maximum does not exceed one month’s rent

    • No statutes govern security deposit interest, pet deposits, setting up separate security deposit bank account, or non-refundable fees.

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is within 20 days after the termination of tenancy, delivery of abandoned possessions, or after the landlord receives the tenant’s forwarding address.

    • Some of the permitted uses of the security deposit include:

      • The payment of outstanding rent

      • It could be used to cover the amount of physical damages to the premises besides the ordinary, and the expected physical damages from the tenant’s non-compliance

    • A written description or an itemized list of damages and charges should be prepared.

    • No statutes govern record-keeping of deposit withholdings or the receipt of the deposit.

    • If the landlord fails to comply with the rules that require returning of the security deposit, the tenant could recover the amount due and the damages with twice the amount of the money withheld wrongfully. The landlord will also pay court and attorney fees

  • Lease, Fees, and Rent

    • Rent is due as it is agreed in the lease. In case an agreement doesn’t exist, rent is payable at the beginning of the month

    • A rent increase notice of 30 days is required before the rent increase takes effect. And, if you have monthly tenants above 62 years, you will have to issue a 60-day notice for rent increase

    • The rent grace period and the late fees have no statutes

    • Regarding prepaid rent after the day of the effective termination, the landlord will have to refund the money within 30 days.

    • The tenant could withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services such as water or heat

    • For repairs costing less than $125, the tenant can repair and deduct rent. This applies only if the condition that calls for repairs did not result from the tenant’s deliberate action or inaction, or neglect. However, the tenant has to notify the landlord their intention to repair the problem, and they can only go on with repairs if the landlord fails to remedy the problem within 20 days.

    • The landlord can recover court and attorney fees if an eviction ensues

    • The landlord should make a reasonable attempt to remedy damages to a lessee, and this includes any efforts to re-rent.

    • Early termination or abandonment is disallowed. Notwithstanding, after vacating the premises the tenant will be responsible for the unpaid rent and any other obligations stated in the Rhode Island rental lease agreement.

    • Notices and Entry

    • You have to read the Rhode Island Notice and Complaint Form

    • No notice is required for the termination of fixed end leases because they expire.

    • Termination of yearly leases with no end dates require q 3-month notice, before the expiry of the occupation year

    • For termination of monthly leases, a 30-day notice is necessary before the date specified in the notice

    • The termination of weekly leases is valid after the issuance of a 10-day written notice

    • Termination of a lease with a 24-hour notice requires that the landlord files for immediate eviction without especially if the tenant violates the statutory tenant duties that relate to violence or drugs crimes.

    • The state has no statute for giving notices on the date or time of move-out inspections.

    • If a tenant fails to maintain the premises in accordance to the set rules and, in a manner that affects the health and the safety of other dwellers, the landlord can issue a 20-day notice specifying the breach and requesting a remedy.

    • In the event of nonpayment, the landlord could issue a 5-day written notice before the termination of the lease, if the rent is 15 days late. Eviction should commence no earlier than the 6th day after the issue of the written notice

    • Termination of the tenancy before going to an assisted living facility for tenants aged above 65 years becomes effective no earlier than 45 days after the due date of the first renal payment due date, after the notice of the lease termination.

    • The notice before entry is given 2-days before entry is allowed

    • The notice should also be provided for non-emergency repairs and maintenance works

    • Entry is also permitted for showings, and emergency entry is granted without notice.

    • If a tenant is absent for extended periods, entry without notice is required. As a result, notice is required before a tenant’s extended absence

    • Lockouts and utility shut-offs aren’t needed

Disclosures and Miscellaneous notes

This covers details like names and addresses, landlord’s duties, domestic violence situations, tenant’s duties, retaliation, landlord paying moving costs for non-compliant housing and Lead disclosures.

  • Court Related Matters

    • The State of Rhode Island charges among the lowest limits of $2,500. It doesn’t allow eviction cases.

    • The statute of Limitations recognizes written and oral contracts for 10 years.

Business Licenses

Before you fill out our free online rental lease agreement form in Rhode Island, you might want to know that no statewide statutes exist but cities like Warwick or Providence requires the registration of business licenses.