Free Kentucky Rental Lease Agreement


Kentucky Rental Lease Agreement

An understanding of the rental lease agreement in Kentucky is essential for anyone looking to rent a residential unit in the state.

  • Official Rules and Regulations

    • Landlord and tenant – Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383

    • Exclusions from Application – Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.535

    • Limitation of Actions – Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413

    • Attorney General’s Guide to Rental Housing

  • What laws govern the security deposit

    • There is no statute limiting the security deposit maximum

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is 30 days for unpaid rent and 60 days if the tenant doesn’t file any claims or dispute

    • There are no statutes for nonrefundable deposits, security deposit interests or pet deposits and associated additional fees.

    • A separate security deposit bank is a requirement as the tenant shall be informed of the location of the separate account plus the account number.

    • In case of move in disclosures, a prospective client shall be presented with a comprehensive listing of any existing damage to the unit which will be the basis for a charge against the security deposit.

    • A move-out check list and an itemized list of damages and charges is required

    • Advance notice of withholding is required, and the tenant has a right to inspect the premise after receiving their itemized list of damages for verification of the accuracy

    • There are no statutes for record keeping of deposit withholdings or the receipt of deposits.

  • Lease, Rent, and Fees

    • Rent is payable without demand or notice, and at the time and place that is agreed upon by the parties. Unless otherwise agreed, rent is due at the beginning of every month, and apportionable daily.

    • The default term – unless fixed in the rental agreement, the default term is week to week for tenants paying weekly and monthly in all the other cases.

    • There are no statutes on rent increase notices, the rent grace period, late fees, and prepaid rent.

    • The returned check attracts a fee of $50

    • The landlord is prohibited from enforcing the lease clauses found in KRS § 383.570.

    • A tenant can withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services like water and heat.

    • The tenant can repair and deduct rent if the cost of the repairs is less than $100 or half the month’s rent. The landlord has 14 days to remedy the issue.

    • The landlord can recover attorney and court fees

    • The landlord needs to make a reasonable attempt to mitigate any damages including attempts to re-rent.

  • Notices and Entry

    • The definition of notice is found in KRS § 383.560

    • There is no statute for the notice of termination of fixed-end leases

    • There is a 30 days’ notice of termination of month to month leases

    • There is a 7-days’ notice for the termination of weekly leases

    • For termination of non-payment, a 7-days’ notice is issued to remedy or quit.

    • In case of a lease violation, a 15 days’ notice is given to remedy, or the party quits. An unconditional quit notice is issued for repeat offences that happen within six months of the previous violation.

    • For termination under labor contracts, if the tenant enters or holds the premises under a contract stipulating that he or she is to labor for his landlord and he or she fails to be to labor or fails to comply with his contract, he or she will lose rights to the premise immediately. The tenant has to abandon the premises without demand or notice.

    • A two days’ notice is required before entry, and the landlord can enter the premises at reasonable times.

    • Entry is allowed for non-emergency maintenance and repairs with notice.

    • Entry is allowed for showings, with notice for showings

    • Emergency entry is allowed without notice

    • There are no statutes on notices for date/time of move out inspections

    • If specified in the lease agreement, the notice of extended absence is given if the tenant will be out for 7 or more days.

    • Entry is allowed during the tenant’s extended absence

    • No statute highlights the need for notice to tenants for pesticide use

    • Lockouts and utility shutoffs are not allowed.

    • The consequences of self-eviction equal three months periodic rent, the return of prepaid rent, and reasonable attorney fees.

Disclosures and Notes

Here you have to be aware of the landlord duties and maintenance, tenant’s duties, name, and addresses, house regulations and rules, domestic violence situations, lead exposure, and retaliation.

Court and Legal Matters

In the Kentucky small claims court, you have to pay limits of $2,500, and the courts allow eviction claims – Kentucky District Court

The statute of limitations gives 15 years for rent, five years for damage to personal property. Kentucky Courts of Justice, Kentucky Attorney General, and Kentucky Bar Association.

  • You can also get legal aid from:

    • Kentucky Bar Association – Lawyer Locator

    • Kentucky Bar Association – Legal Aid Locator

    • Kentucky Legal Aid

    • Legal Aid Society of Louisville

    • Appalachian Research and Defense Fund

    • Legal Aid of the Bluegrass

    • Legal Aid Network of Kentucky

Business licenses

There are no state-wide requirements, but the local cities and the counties may have regulations and licensing requirements.

You can get your Kentucky rental lease agreement from us today if you fill the form now.