Free Oregon Rental Lease Agreement


Oregon Rental Lease Agreement

Which rules govern security deposits, entry into a residential rental unit, rent, leases, fees or disclosures in the state of Oregon? To end your speculations, this article outlines the rental laws as well as your rights and obligations.

  • The Official Rules and Regulations

    • Resident Landlord and Tenant Laws – Or. Rev. Stat. § 90

    • Tenancy Laws – Or. Rev. Stat. § 91

    • Oregon State Bar – Landlord-Tenant Law

    • The Landlord-Tenant, Domestic Relations, Probate – Or. Rev. Statutes Vol. 03 § 90 to 130

    • Portland Landlord Training Manual

  • Security Deposit

    • The state of Oregon has no statutes governing the security deposit maximum, the security deposit interest, or the need for landlords to set up separate security deposit bank account.

    • In the Oregon rental lease agreement, you will not that pet deposits are allowed, but, not for service animals.

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is 31 days

    • After moving out, the landlord should prepare a written description or an itemized list of damages and charges.

    • Carpet cleaning: the rental lease agreement covers carpet cleaning and, the laws state that the landlord can only withhold funds for cleaning carpets if it is mentioned in the lease. However, the proposed bill 2689 may eliminate this requirement.

    • No statute in the state of Oklahoma requires record keeping of deposit withholdings

    • The landlord should provide the tenants with a receipt for any security deposit that the tenant pays.

    • In case of noncompliance on the part of the landlord, or if the landlord fails to return part or all of the security deposit or the prepaid rent then the tenant might recover twice the amount.

  • Fees, Lease or Rent

    • When is rent due? In the state of Oregon, rent is payable, without any demands or notice at the time and place that the parties agree upon in the lease agreement. And, unless stated otherwise, the rent is due at the beginning of any term of one month, or even less.

    • The notice for a rent increase is a 30-day notice for monthly leases and 7 days for weekly leases.

    • A rent grace period of 4 days if given in the rental lease agreement in Oregon.

    • The reasonable late fees charged is a flat fee applicable only if documented in the lease and if it can be assigned at the beginning of the 5th day after the rent is due.

    • The Oregon rental lease agreement allows the payment of prepaid rent.

    • The returned check fee which is the amount of the dishonored check shouldn’t exceed $35, plus any amount charged by the bank for processing of the dishonored check.

    • The rental laws allow tenants to withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services like heat and water.

    • The tenant can also repair and deduct rent

    • The landlord can recover attorney and court fees.

    • The laws prescribe that the landlord should make reasonable attempts to mitigate damages to the lessee, and this includes any attempts of re-renting

    • If a tenant abandons a property/ lease, the landlord could charge up to 1.5x the monthly rent.

  • Notices and Entry

    • The notice to terminate tenancy for yearly leases is 60 days or more from the date of lease expiration

    • No notice is necessary when terminating fixed-end-date leases

    • The notice to terminate monthly leases is 30-days or more from the date the lease is set to expire. But, if a tenant has lived there for over a year, then a 60-day written notice will suffice.

    • Termination of a lease with a 24-hour notice is allowed in extreme situations like when the tenant is a danger to self and others.

    • The notice to terminate weekly leases is 7 days

    • The notice to terminate leases due to sale the sale of the property should be given 30 days before the sale or 60 days if these are true:

      • The dwelling unit is purchased separately from any other dwelling unit

      • The landlord has accepted the offer to purchase the dwelling unit from a person who intends, to occupy the dwelling unit as the person’s primary residence, and in good faith.

      • The landlord has to give notice and written evidence of the offer to purchase the dwelling unit to the tenant not more than 120 days after they accept the offer to purchase.

    • No statute governs notices of date and time of move-out inspections.

    • The notice of termination of weekly leases for non-payment is 72 hours unless the tenant remedies.

    • In the event of nonpayment, a 144-hour notice of termination is issued no sooner than the 5th day of the rental period and 72 hours no sooner than the 8th day.

    • For lease violation, a 30-day notice is issued and 10 days in case of a second lease violation in 6 months

    • 24-hour notice is required before entry

    • Notice is necessary for maintenance and repairs that are not urgent

    • Entry is allowed for showings, and emergency entry is allowed without notice

    • The landlord can enter a residential unit if the tenant is absent for more than 7 days

    • No statutes exist for pesticide use notification

    • Lockouts and utility-shutoffs are not allowed.

    • Disclosures and Miscellaneous notes

    • This covers name and addresses, a copy of leases, domestic violence situations. Retaliation, and 100-year floodplain.

Court-Related Matters

The state of Oregon has a Small Claims Court Limit of $10,000, and it doesn’t allow eviction cases.

Business Licenses

The state of Oregon doesn’t have state-wide statutes for licenses, but the local counties and cities could have them.

If you are looking for an Oregon rental lease agreement form, get it free from us today.