Sample Virginia Rental Lease Agreement
Virginia Rental Lease Agreement
Perhaps you are in a hurry to get settled, and you are viewing our rental lease agreement online. However, it is unwise to fill and sign the lease agreement form before you read the rental laws applicable in the state of Virginia
The Official Rules and Regulations
Code of Virginia – Fair Housing Law – Chapter 5.1
Code of Virginia – Landlord/Tenant Laws – Chapter 13
Code of Virginia – Manufactured Home Lot Rental Act – Chapter 13.3
Code of Virginia – Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act – Chapter 13.2
Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (2015)
Virginia Small Claims Court Procedures
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code
Residential Rental Units Laws and Details
Applicability and Exceptions
While the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (VRLTA) governs all the rental housing in the state, a few exceptions exist. These scenarios include, but are not limited to:
Occupancy by clients who do not pay rent; and
Occupation in the single-family residences if the owners are the natural persons or estates owning no more than 2 single-family residences.
In the state of Virginia, the security deposit maximum equals to 2 months’ worth of rent.
Security deposit interest is not a requirement
The state has no statute governing the setting up of separate security deposit bank account, and payment of pet deposits, and other additional fees.
The rental lease agreement in Virginia states that the deadline for returning the security deposit is 45 days.
Record keeping of deposit withholdings spans 2 years.
Lease, Fees, and Rent
The state has no statutes for rent increase notices or late fees.
In the event of prepaid rent, the amount should be placed in an escrow account with a federally-insured depository within Virginia, by the end of the fifth day of business, following the receipt of the rent. The amount shall remain in the account until such a time as it becomes due.
A tenant will pay $50 for any returned check, as well as any other fees charged by the financial institution.
A tenant can withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services such as heat and water.
On matters relating to application fees and holding deposits, the landlord has to return the deposit within 20 days if the applicant fails to rent the unit after paying the application deposit. The cost returned will be less any damages and other expenses.
But, in case of application fees paid in cash, postal money order or a certified cashier’s check, the refund will be made within 10 days of the applicant’s failure; if the failure stems from the landlord's failure to rent the unit by virtue of rejected application. The landlord can, however, charge a non-refundable application fee for purposes of screening.
The landlord can recover attorney and court fees.
Notices and Entry
A 3-month notice prior to the end of a lease is necessary for the termination of yearly leases
30-days’ notice is necessary for the termination of monthly leases unless both parties agree to a shorter period in the lease agreement.
The statutes do not cover the issuance of notices for time and date of move-out inspection.
If a tenant fails to pay rent, their lease termination will take place after the issuance of a 5-day pay notice, notice to quit or notice to lose possessions.
For military personnel, the notice of termination of the lease by the tenant may not be more than 60 days away before the date of departure if the relocation is more than 35 miles away.
A 24-hour notice is required before entry.
24 hours’ notice is required for entry into a unit for non-emergency repairs and maintenance works.
Entry is allowed without notice if a tenant is absent for more than 7 days.
A 48-hour notice to tenants is required for any pesticide usage
Entry without notice is allowed in emergencies.
Utility shutoffs and lockouts are disallowed.
Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes
This section of the rental lease agreement in Virginia covers domestic violence situations and retaliation.
Court Related Matters
The Small Claims Court has its limits set at $5,000.
The state doesn’t have statewide statutes, but the local cities and counties may have different requirements.
With that out of the way, you can now fill our online rental lease agreement form here.
VA Rental Lease Agreement
Personalize your Rental Lease Agreement template.
Print or download in minutes.