Free Iowa Rental Lease Agreement


Iowa Rental Lease Agreement

The state of Iowa has set rules and regulations that govern residential rental units. In this article, we shall share the landlord-tenant laws on security deposits, rent, fees and leases, notices and entry, disclosures and court-related matters.

  • Official Rules and Regulations

    • The Iowa Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act – Iowa Code §§ 562A

    • Limitation of actions – Iowa Code §§ 614.1

    • Legislative Guide to Landlord-Tenant Law – Iowa Legislative Services Agency

  • Security Deposit

    • The security deposit maximum isn’t more than two months’ worth of rent.

    • There is security deposit interest earned and any interest earned on the rent deposit in the first five years of tenancy is the landlord’s property.

    • Separate security deposit bank account: the deposits are held in federally-insured banks or any other financial institution. The deposit cannot commingle with the landlord’s personal funds

    • There are no statutes on pet deposits or non-refundable fees

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is 30 days from the day the tenant moves out.

    • The security deposit can be used for:

      • Covering unpaid rent or the funds due to the landlord

      • Restoration of the unit to the condition it was before the tenant moved in

      • Recovering expenses incurred in possessing the premises from the tenant who doesn’t act in good faith and fails to surrender and vacate the premise even after noncompliance.

    • There should be a written description or an itemized list of damages and charges given with 30 days after the tenant moves out.

    • Record keeping of deposit withholdings is important, and the landlord may have to prove their reason for withholding the deposit.

    • There is no statute stipulating receipts of deposit.

    • In case of failure to comply:

If the landlord fails to give a written statement of deposit withholdings, the landlord forfeits the right to withhold any portion of the deposit. This is provided for under the law in (§§ 562A.12(4) and (7)).

  • Lease, Fees, and Rent

    • In the rental lease agreement, rent is due at the beginning of the term unless it is agreed otherwise.

    • For rent increase, at least 30 days of written notice is necessary before the effective date.

    • There is no statute for rent grace periods prepaid rent

    • The late fees charges will vary. If the rent is $700 per month or less, the late fee is up to $12 per day or $60 per month. But, if the rent is above $700 per month, the late fees charged is $20 per day of $100 per month.

    • The returned check fees do not exceed $30.

    • The tenant can withhold the rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services

    • The tenant can repair and deduct rent

    • The landlord can recover court and attorney fees

    • The landlord must make reasonable attempts to mitigate damages to the lessee, including attempts to re-rent.

    • There is no statute governing abandonment or early termination fees.

  • Notices and Entry

    • Notice isn’t necessary for the termination of fixed end-date leases

    • For year-long tenancies with no fixed end dates, the landlord or the tenant may terminate tenancy lasting more than a month by giving written notice to the other party, at least 30 days before the end of the first or the subsequent term.

    • For monthly leases, a 30 days’ notice should be given by either party 30 days before the periodic rental date specified.

    • Ten days’ notice is ideal for weekly notices

    • A 3 days’ notice of termination and a notice to quit is required for the termination of tenancy for the creation of clear and present danger to others.

    • There are no statutes for move out inspection time and date

    • A 3 days’ notice is needed for termination of a lease because of violation, and there is an unconditional termination for lease violation if the violation is repeated within six months of the previous notice.

    • You need a 24 hours’ notice before entry

    • Entry is allowed, with notice, for showings and emergency entry is allowed without notice

    • If the tenant abandons the premises, then the entry is allowed in case of a tenant’s extended absence.

    • There is no statute governing the issuance of notices to tenants for pesticide use.

    • Lockout and utility shutoffs are unacceptable

Disclosures and Miscellaneous notes

This has names and addresses, utility rates, environmental liability, a copy of leases, utility rates, domestic violence status, retaliation, lead disclosure, and the landlord and tenant duties.

  • Court-related

    • In the Iowa small claims courts, you will pay $5000 in limits, and the courts allow eviction cases.

    • The Statute of Limitations allows the use of written contracts for ten years and oral contracts for five years.

    • You can also get legal aid

Business Licenses

There are no state-wide statutes though counties and cities may have regulations and even requirements.

In case you need more information on rental lease agreement in Iowa, fill in our lease agreement form today.