Sample Washington Rental Lease Agreement
Washington Rental Lease Agreement
The Washington rental lease agreement contains information on security deposits, leases, rent, fees, notices, entries, disclosures, court matters, and business licenses. Do you understand your rights and obligations with regards to these elements of the lease agreement? Well, keep reading.
The Official Rules and Regulations
Landlord and Tenant - Washington RCW §§ 59
Tenancies - Washington RCW §§ 59.04
Residential Landlord-Tenant Act - Washington RCW §§ 59.18
Official Duties of a Landlord and Tenant - Washington RCW §§ 59.18.060 and Washington RCW §§ 59.18.130 respectively
Manufactured/Mobile Home Landlord-Tenant Act - Washington RCW §§ 59.20
Small Claims Appeals - Washington RCW §§ 12.36
Duties of owners - Seattle Landlord Tenant Laws SMC §§ 22.206.160
Seattle Laws on Property Owner and Tenant Rights and Responsibilities
No statute sets the limit of the security deposit maximum
The deadline for returning the security deposit is 21 days
Unless it is agreed otherwise, and in writing the landlord received the interest paid on such trust account deposits
It is a requirement for landlords to set up separate security deposit bank accounts.
Charging nonrefundable fees is allowed in the Washington rental lease agreement. However, the fees shouldn’t be part of the deposit, and it should, therefore, be labeled non-refundable fees in the legal agreement.
Landlords can charge pet deposits, and other extra fees.
Regarding having a written and a signed move-in checklist, the landlord cannot collect any security deposit unless written in the rental lease agreement, and if a signed list of written checklists or a statement outlining the exact condition and cleanliness of the unit is issued
An itemized list of charges and damaged is required
No statute governs the requirement for record keeping of the deposit withholdings
The landlord shall issue a receipt of deposit with the name and address, as well as the location of the depository.
If the landlords fail to comply (doesn’t have a written checklist at the start of the tenancy), the prevailing party will recover court costs, as well as the reasonable attorney fees.
Lease, Fees, and Rent
No statute limits the due date for the rent
The rent increase notice is in the form of 30-day written notice for monthly leases.
A landlord has to provide a receipt for any payment made by tenants in cash form, upon a request by the tenant.
No statutes govern late fees, the rent grace period, and the prepaid rent.
Returned check fees can be charged as long as it does not exceed $40 or the face value of the check; whichever is less.
The tenant can withhold rent in case of the landlord’s failure to provide essential services like heating and water. The catch, however, is that the tenant has to notify the government and the authorities of the situation at hand, and they should deposit rent in an escrow account instead.
The tenant can repair and deduct rent. If the repairs require a licensed professional, the tenant has to issue the landlord with an estimate of the works before the works begin. The works should cost more than 2 months’ rent. However, if the repairs do not require licensed professional hands, the tenant could skillfully repair the defect, but the cost shouldn’t exceed one month’s rent.
The landlord can recover attorney and court fees
The landlord should make a reasonable attempt to mitigate any damages to the lessee; this includes any attempts to re-rent.
If a tenant abandons their property, the landlord can store the property, and eventually sell the property to compensate any damages and expenses as per rental lease agreement laws in Washington.
Notices and entry
No notice is necessary for the termination of leases in fixed-end-date leases
A 20-day notice is required for termination of monthly leases. A shorter notice is allowed for members of the armed forces
In cases of squatters or unapproved tenancies. The tenant is only liable for the rent for the time of their occupancy.
No statute guides the issuance of notice for date and time of move-out inspections.
A 3-day notice is required for the termination of all leases for nonpayment
A 10-day notice is issued for termination of the lease because of a lease violation, and a 3-day notice for engagement in nuisance of illegal activities.
A 2-day notice is required before entry
Entry is allowed, with notice, for non-emergency repairs and emergency works.
Entry with notice is also essential for showings and entry is allowed without notice for emergencies.
The state of Washington has no statutes for notice to tenants on pesticide use or entry during a tenant’s extended absence.
Lockouts and utility shutoffs are not allowed.
Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes
It covers the official duties of the tenant/ landlords, a copy of the lease, name, and addresses, Lead disclosures, domestic violence situations, adverse action notice, City of Seattle, and Retaliation.
Oregon Small Claims Court has set its limits to at least $250 but under $5,000. The court doesn’t allow eviction cases.
No statewide statutes exist. This changes in cities and counties
In Seattle, the rental properties must be registered with the state of planning and development.
Now that you know your obligation and applicable rental laws, you can fill our rental lease agreement Washington form here.
WA Rental Lease Agreement
Personalize your Rental Lease Agreement template.
Print or download in minutes.