Sample Connecticut Rental Lease Agreement
Connecticut Rental Lease Agreement
Before moving to the state of Connecticut, don’t you think that you should know everything about rental lease agreements, security deposits, your responsibility, and extra fees applicable? Well, before filling in our Connecticut rental lease agreement form, we shall outline the details of the landlord-tenant laws.
Official rules and regulations
What is the maximum security deposit allowed?
According to the rental lease agreement laws in Connecticut, the maximum security deposit payable is two months’ worth of rent for tenants aged 62 years and younger or one month’s rent for tenants older than 62 years of age.
The tenants aged above 62 years may request a refund if the security deposit exceeds a month’s rent.
Is there any security deposit interest applicable?
Yes. This is a requirement, and it should be paid at the rate set by the Banking Commissioner. The tenant will forfeit their right to the interest for any month that the rent is late by more than 10 days. The exception for this is when there are late fees agreed to when the lease is charged. The landlord shall not increase the rent because of the requirement to pay interest on the deposits.
Should there be a separate security deposit bank account?
Yes, this is a requirement.
Are there pet deposits?
No, there are no statutes
Are there non-refundable fees?
No statutes apply to this
What is the deadline for returning the security deposit?
A landlord has 30 days or in some cases, 15 days after the tenant issues their forwarding address – whichever is the latter.
What are the permitted uses of the security deposit?
Covering unpaid rent due under the lease
For utility payments owed to the landlord
Damage resulting from the tenant’s failure to comply with their tenant obligations.
Should there be a written description or an itemized list of damages and charges?
Is there a statute in the Connecticut rental lease agreements stipulating the need for record keeping of the deposit withholdings?
About receipt of the deposit
A receipt is needed for the cash payment. The receipt should state the amount deposited, date and the purpose of the payment. This is important because the Banking Commissioner may request the landlord to provide, within seven days, the name of each bank they hold their deposits, including the account number of every escrow account.
What are the consequences of non-compliance?
If the landlord doesn’t comply with the rules for returning the deposit, the landlord will be liable for double the value of the security deposit. But, there is an exception – in case the violation is for failing to return the interest, the landlord is only liable for twice the interest.
Also, the Banking Commissioner is empowered to investigate any claims of violations and may file the landlord for every offense and the amount differing for the different violations.
Lease, Fees, and Rent
When is rent due?
As a tenant and a landlord agree on the Connecticut rental lease agreement, the, and if not agreed upon, rent is due at the beginning of any term of one month or less. For terms more than a month, rent is due at the beginning of the month.
Is a rent increase notice a requirement?
No, it’s not in the statutes.
What is the rent grace-period?
If for any reason, rent isn’t paid within nine days of when the rent is due, or within four days in week-to-week leases, the landlord has the right to terminate the lease and evict – all in accordance with the state rules on eviction.
Are late fees charged?
The landlord may nor charge late fees until nine days after the rent is overdue.
Are there any statutes for prepaid rent?
Legal lease contract statutes on returned check fees
There are no statutes regarding the fees that the bank may charge when processing overdrawn checks. Also, the fees vary with the banks, and if the check is for rent, a tenant isn’t liable to the landlord for any civil charges. This is according to the Penal Code Ch. 925 §§ 52-565a.
Can tenants withhold rent for failure to offer essential services?
Yes. However, the tenant has to first give notice specifying the violations and then they may procure the service and then deduct the cost from the rent. The lease shall not, however, permit the receipt of rent for any period during which the landlord fails to comply with their legally binding duties.
In case the landlord fails to satisfy their legally required duties, a tenant may submit a detailed complaint to the local Housing Court compelling the landlord to satisfy their responsibilities. The tenant can then arrange to pay rent into a court-controlled escrow account.
If, and when the landlord fixes the violation, then, they can request for the termination of rent payment to the court. The court decides how to distribute the money held, and it may order that the rent is returned to the tenant.
Can the landlord repair and deduct rent?
No, no statute defines the process of repairs and deductions.
Can the landlord recover court and attorney fees?
Only in some cases – such as if the tenant refuses the landlord entry to the premises such that the landlord goes to court to regain entry. In such cases, the landlord may recover the actual damages at reasonable attorney fees.
At the same time, the lease may not include any provisions where the tenant agrees to pay the landlord’s attorney fees more than 15 percent any judgment against the tenant.
;Can the landlord make a reasonable attempt to mitigate damages to the lessee, including any attempts to re-rent?
Yes. If the tenant abandons the premises, the landlord can make reasonable efforts to rent the unit at a fair rate to mitigate any damages.
Is there abandonment/ early termination fees?
No statutes cover these.
Notices and Entry
How long is the notice to terminate tenancy on a fixed date lease
A three-day notice is necessary.
How long is the notice to terminate tenancy for yearly leases with no end dates?
A three-day notice is required.
How long is the notice of terminating the tenancy for a month-to-month or week-to-week lease?
What calls for termination of tenancy within 24-hours’ notice?
There are no statutes for 24-hour lease terminations.
Is there a notice date/ time for move-out inspections?
Any notice of termination of week-to-week leases for nonpayment?
Three-days’ notice required and it can be given if the rent isn’t paid with the four-day statutory grace-period. Also, in these weekly leases, a notice to quit terminates the lease for that week, and it converts the tenancy into a tenancy at sufferance – laying grounds for eviction.
How long is the notice of termination for all the other leases for nonpayment?
Three days are necessary. These days can be given if the rent isn’t paid within the statutory grace period.
In case of the month-to-month leases, a notice to quit terminates the lease for the month and converts the tenancy into a tenancy at sufferance, laying grounds for eviction.
How long is the notice of termination of lease violation?
This is a 15-day written notice specifying the required violation.
What is the duration of the required notice before entry?
A reasonable or an oral notice is necessary, and entry is only allowed at reasonable times
Is entry allowed for notice of non-emergency maintenance and repairs?
Is entry with notice allowed for showings?
Is entry allowed during a tenant’s extended absence?
Yes, although the tenant has to give notice of the anticipated extended absence and the landlord may enter the premise at reasonable times for inspections, repairs, alternations, and improvements.
Can tenants use pesticides?
Are lockouts allowed?
No, unless in the Summary Process
Is utility Shut-off required?
Disclosure and miscellaneous notes
This will include name and addresses, copies of the lease, domestic violence situations, early termination rights, proof of status, and landlord’s / tenant’s duties. It also covers retaliation, Lead disclosure and payment options besides Electronic Funds Transfer.
In the Connecticut Small Claims Court –
Limits are $5,000 except for the return of security deposits disputes.
No eviction cases allowed
The statute of Limitations covers written and oral contracts for 6 and 3 years respectively.
Legal aid is available
There are no state-wide statutes, but local cities may need the licenses.
For your rental lease agreement in Connecticut, get your online form here.
CT Rental Lease Agreement
Personalize your Rental Lease Agreement template.
Print or download in minutes.