Free Kansas Rental Lease Agreement


Kansas Rental Lease Agreement

The state of Kansas has set in place laws that govern landlords and tenants in residential rental units. Before leasing property, an understanding of the laws is essential.

  • The Official Rules and Regulations

    • The Kansas Residential Landlord & Tenant Act – Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-2501 – 58-2573

    • Kansas Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord and Tenant Act – Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 58-25,100 – 58-25,126

  • Security Deposit

    • The security deposit maximum is one month’s rent for the unfurnished units and one and a half month’s tent for the furnished units.

    • Separate pet deposits are allowed if pets are allowed in the units.

    • There are no statutes governing security deposit interests, separate security deposit bank account and non-refundable fees.

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is 14 days of the landlord determining the amount of deposit withholding. The return shouldn’t exceed 30 days from the day of termination of the tenancy.

    • Some of the permitted uses of the deposit include:

      • The payment of the rent owned

      • Damages which the landlord suffers due to noncompliance.

    • No statute states whether or not a written description of the itemized list of damages and charges is required.

    • There is no statute stipulating record keeping of the deposit withholdings or the receipt of deposit.

    • Failure to comply with the rules of the security deposit return gives the tenant rights to sue for recovery of the portion of the deposit.

  • Lease, Rent, and Fees

    • Rent is due at the beginning of any term unless agreed otherwise.

    • Rent increase notice is issued as stated in the lease

    • There is no statute for prepaid rent

    • Returned check fees cost $30

    • There is no statute highlighting is a tenant can withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services. However, in case of landlord violations, the tenant can terminate the agreement with a 30-day written notice providing 14 days for the landlord to remedy.

    • There is no statute stipulating is the tenant can repair and deduct rent.

    • The landlord can recover the court and the attorney fees

    • The landlord must make reasonable attempts to mitigate damages to the lessee, including any attempts to re-rent.

    • There is no statute for abandonment or the early termination fees

  • Notices and Entry

    • In fixed-end date leases, there are no notices given

    • In yearly leases with end-dates, especially in non-farm tenancies, yearly leases are terminated with a 30-day written notice before the end of the year.

    • In monthly leases, you have to give a 30-day termination notice before the periodic rent-paying date unless you work in the US military service where the military orders necessitate termination.

    • For weekly leases, a 7-day termination notice is required before the termination date specified in the notice.

    • For 24-hour termination notices, there is no statute

    • Notice of date/ time of move-out inspection is given within five days of moving in, and the tenant or the landlord’s representative must be present during the inspection.

    • The notice of termination for nonpayment of tenancies longer than three months is ten days and three days for non-payment tenancies less than three months.

    • In case of termination for the violation of the lease, the landlord may give a written notice to describe the violation while stating that the agreement will terminate in 30 days if the violation isn’t remedied within 14 days. If there is a second violation within six months of the first violation, the landlord will terminate the agreement with a 30-day written notice to specify the breach and the date of the agreement.

    • The landlord must give the tenants reasonable notice before entry at a reasonable hour before entry

    • Entry is allowed with notice for non-emergency maintenance and repairs, as well as showings.

    • Also, emergency entry is allowed without notice in case of extreme hazards that involve life or severe property damage.

    • Entry is allowed in case of a tenant’s extended absence. This should be in the Kansas rental lease agreement.

    • There is no statute as to whether a notice should be given for pesticide use

    • Lockout and utility shutoffs are allowed

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes

This section has details for names and addresses, a copy of leases, domestic violence situations, landlord’s duties, tenant’s duties, lead disclosure and retaliation.

Court Related

Kansas Small Claims Court sets the limits to $4,000 but, the eviction cases aren’t allowed.

In the statute of limitations, the lease agreement is viable for five years if written and three years if oral.

  • You can get help from

    • Kansas Judiciary

    • Kansas Attorney General

    • Kansas Bar Association

    • Legal Aid

  • Business Licenses

  • There is no statewide statute, but counties and cities may have regulations and requirement for business licenses.

    If you’d like to fill a rental lease agreement in Kansas, fill our lease agreement form today.