Free Louisiana Rental Lease Agreement


Louisiana Rental Lease Agreement

Do you know the residential rental laws that govern landlords and tenants in Louisiana? This article has you covered, and you can also get our lease agreement from online today.

  • Official Rules and regulations

    • La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §9:3251 – §9:3261 – Landlord and Tenant Statutes

    • La. Civ. Code Ann. art. CC 2668 – CC 2729 – Landlord and Tenant Civil Codes

    • La. Code Civ. Pro. Ann art. CCP 4701 – CCP 4735 – Eviction of Tenants and Occupants – Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure

    • Attorney General’s Guide to Louisiana Landlord & Tenant Laws

  • Security Deposit

    • No statutes govern the security deposit maximum, security deposit interest, separate security deposit bank account, and pet disputes.

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is one month

    • The acceptable uses of the security deposit include:

      • Remedy defaults of the tenant

      • Remedy unreasonable wears to the premises

    • A written description or an itemized list of damages and charges is required

    • No statutes for record keeping of the deposit withholdings or receipt of the deposit.

    • If the landlord fails to return the deposits according to §3251, the tenant may sue and recover the actual damages or $200, whichever is greater

  • Lease, Rent, and Fees

    • Rent is due as at the beginning of the rent paying interval unless stated otherwise in the lease.

    • No statutes govern rent increase notices or rent grace periods

    • Late fees are payable only is stated in the lease

    • No statute stipulates if the tenant can withhold rent for failure to provide essential services like heat and water.

    • The tenant can repair and deduct rent to make necessary and reasonable repairs and then deduct the cost of the repairs from the rent

    • The landlord can recover the court and attorney fees.

    • While the statutes don’t reference the requirement for the landlord to make a reasonable attempt to mitigate damages to the lessee, including attempts to re-rent, the landlord will mitigate the damages if the tenant gets evicted or if the premise is rendered inhabitable.

    • No statute stipulated abandonment or early termination fees

  • Notices and Entry

    • No notice is required for termination of tenancies in fixed end date leases.

    • Notice of 30 days is required to terminate a tenancy in yearly leases.

    • Notice of 10 days is required to terminate tenancy for monthly leases

    • Notice of 5 days is necessary to terminate tenancy for weekly leases

    • No statute stipulates what happens for the termination of tenancies within 24 hours or the date and time of move-out inspections.

    • No statute stipulates the process of terminating weekly leases for nonpayment but five days’ notice is issued for termination of all the other leases in case of nonpayment

    • Termination for lease violation requires a 5-day written notice

    • No statute for whether notice is required before entry or not.

    • No statute for allowing entry with notice for showings

    • No statute for emergency entry allowed without notice

    • No statute is stating if the entry is allowed during a tenant’s extended absence or use of pesticides.

    • No lockouts and utility shutoffs are allowed

Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes

There are no statutes for name and addresses and the copy of the lease

In domestic violence situations, there is protection from termination

This section also covers the tenant’s and the landlord’s duties, as well as retaliation and lead disclosure.

Court Related

In the Louisiana Small Claims Court, the limits vary with the county or the city.

Eviction cases are disallowed

  • Statute of Limitations

    • Written Contracts: 10 years (§3499)

    • Oral Contracts: 10 years (§3499)

  • Legal aid is available from

    • Louisiana Bar Association – Lawyer Referral

    • LouisianaLawHelp.org

    • Tulane Legal Assistance Program

    • Acadiana Legal Services

    • Legal Services of North Louisiana

    • Southeast Louisiana Legal Services

Business Licenses

In the Louisiana rental lease agreements, there are no state-wide business licenses, but the local counties and cities may have regulations and requirements.

If you are looking for a rental lease agreement form in Louisiana, get in touch with us.