Sample Tennessee Rental Lease Agreement
Tennessee Rental Lease Agreement
What do you know about the rental lease agreement in Tennessee?
The Official Rules and Regulations
The 2013 Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act - Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28
Landlord and Tenant Act – Consumer Information (pdf)
The state of Tennessee has no statutes for the security deposit maximum, non-refundable deposits, and the security deposit interests.
On the other hand, the state has set the deadlines for returning the security deposit to 30 days. Also, landlords need to set up separate security deposit bank accounts. The security deposit has to be in a bank or a financial institution that is subject to the federal and state regulations.
The other requirement set by the state is for landlords to give their advance notice of withholding rent.
On matters relating to pets and any additional fees, the state of Tennessee has no statutes to guide on the matters. It has also not set statutes to guide what happens after receipt of deposits, noncompliance, or keeping of records for the deposit withholdings.
The landlord needs to prepare a move-out checklist or an itemized list of charges and damages. And, joint move-out inspections may be required if requested by the tenant.
Rent, Lease, and Fees
According to the rental laws in the state and the rental lease agreement Tennessee, the rent is due at the beginning of each month, and the rent can be prorated daily unless there is a different agreement.
No rent increase notices statutes are set by the state of Tennessee.
A rent grace period of 5 days is given in the lease agreement from the day that the rent is due, except for the legal holidays and Sundays.
Tennessee rental lease agreements allow landlords to charge late fees for any past rent that is due after the fifth day when the rent is due the late fees applied cannot exceed 10 percent of the past rent due.
However, the state doesn’t have any statutes to govern what happens to prepaid rent.
A returned check fee of $30 can be charged,
The tenant can withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide a habitable dwelling and environment. But, the tenant should file a complaint with a building inspector or the county department of health so that if the landlord fails to make the repairs within 30 days, the tenant can pay the rent to the county clerk.
The tenant can also withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services like water and heat.
The tenant could also repair and deduct rent
In the event of a case against a tenant, the landlord can recover the court and attorney fees.
Also, the legal agreement stipulates that the landlord should make a reasonable attempt to mitigate any damages, which will include any attempts to re-rent.
Notices and Entry
The state has set no statute to govern giving of notice to terminate a tenancy in a fixed-end date lease. However, the note may not be necessary because the tenancy will expire.
Termination of monthly leases requires 30-day notices while the termination of weekly leases require 10-day written notices.
The landlord has to give 14 days’ notice to terminate tenancy for noncompliance. This duration (14 days also applies to the termination of a lease for nonpayment.
If a tenant violates the lease agreement, they get a 30-day written notice. But, for termination of tenancy because of the tenant’s involvement in a drug-related criminal activity or even violent behavior, the landlord will have to issue a 3-day written notice. Termination of a lease because of prostitution violation or substance use is immediate.
While the state of Tennessee doesn’t have statutes for whether notices are required or not, it is recommended to give 24-hour notice before entry.
Entry is allowed, with notice for non-emergency repairs and maintenance works.
Entry is allowed for showings only within the final thirty days of the termination of the rental lease agreement in Tennessee.
In the event of an emergency, entry is allowed without notice.
No statutes govern notices for time or date of move-out inspections or pesticide use. Lockouts and utility shutoffs are not allowed.
A landlord may tow a dead car or a car with a flat tire, missing fenders, or broken glass, and noncompliance
It also guides on the abandonment of premises and personal property.
This has details on the landlord duties and maintenance, tenant’s duties, name and addresses, written lease, fair housing, notification by email, house rules and regulations, lead disclosures, and retaliation.
The Tennessee Small Claims Court has limits set at $25,000, and the courts handle eviction cases.
The statute of limitations sets a limit of 6 and 3 years for rental and damage to real property respectively.
Landlords of one or more dwelling units in a county whose population exceeds 500,000 people have to disclose their personal details; including leases, addresses, subleases, or right to ownership.
Now that you understand your rights and obligations, as well as the state laws, how about filling the above form and get a free online rental lease agreement today?
TN Rental Lease Agreement
Personalize your Rental Lease Agreement template.
Print or download in minutes.