Do you have an old firearm that you want to sell? Or are you looking to buy a gun that you wanted for ages? How will you complete the entire sale without any issues? Is there a license that you need to get or some authority you need to clear with before the sale? Here are some answers.
1# License Requirement
Usually, anyone who makes an occasional sale, exchange or gifts a firearm does not need a Federal Firearms License (FFL). However, you still need to know and abide by state and federal laws.
2# Whom to Sell?
In Oklahoma, the private sale of firearms is considered legal and must be concluded with a bill of sale Oklahoma. However, knowingly selling a firearm to anyone who can’t legally purchase or possess it (a person convicted with a felony or drug addict) is illegal. The act is punishable, and the seller could be jailed for 180 days. Under state law, the buyer of the firearm should be above 18 years of age.
3# Who Are Prohibited?
Felons, which includes a prison sentence of more than a year, misdemeanors that carry a sentence of more than two years cannot purchase firearms.
Fugitives, persons who are a danger to society and patients who have been involuntarily committed to mental institutions are not allowed to purchase firearms. One must be 18 years of age to possess or own firearms, with some exceptions.
Federal law also stops the sale of guns to those found guilty of unlawfully possessing or using controlled substances within the last year. It includes Marijuana which remains illegal under federal law.
Those who have been issued orders by the courts to prevent threatening, who have given up their citizenship, military personnel discharged dishonorably, unauthorized migrants, and tourists temporarily visiting the US on non-immigrant visas are also prohibited from possessing a firearm.
When purchasing a firearm from a dealer, a federal background check is required. It may take three days to complete it. Based on the results, the dealer has the right to go-ahead or deny the transfer. There is no restriction on the number of firearms that a person may purchase as per state law.
4# Can Minors Buy Firearms?
In Oklahoma, minors may own firearms that they get from their parents, relatives or legal guardians. However, they are not allowed to possess firearms until they reach the legal age of 18 years.
5# Who Regulate Firearms?
The Second Amendment serves as the legal ground for the “right of people to keep and bear arms”. The state and federal governments regulate whether residents may carry guns in public places. The laws to regulate the possession and receipt are drafted at the federal level. It is handled by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), a division of the Department of Justice. The National Firearms Act-1934 controls the purchase of shotguns, rifles, machine guns, and others. Semi-automatic weapons sale and the purchase is legal in Oklahoma.
6# Permits to Purchase and Carry Firearms
Oklahoma does not need any permits for the purchase of rifles and shotguns. After November 1, 2019, Oklahoma no longer needs a permit for a person to legally carry a concealed or open firearm in public if he is above 21 years of age. However, the permits are still available and are issued by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.
So, if you have decided to sell a firearm, ensure that the buyer can possess it.
Use Bill of Sale Form Oklahoma at forms.legal!
It is available for FREE at our site. Fill the form online to complete the transaction successfully. Sign up now to access it.