Free Illinois Rental Lease Agreement


Illinois Rental Lease Agreement

Before moving to a new state, especially if you are looking for a residential rental unit, you should go through all the rental laws that govern tenants and landlords. In this article, we shall outline the basic laws on rental lease agreement in Illinois.

  • Official Rules and Regulations

    • Landlord and Tenant Act – 765 ILCS 705

    • Mobile Home Landlord and Tenant Rights Act – 765 ILCS 745

    • Security Deposit Return Act – 765 ILCS 710

    • Security Deposit Interest Act – 765 ILCS 715

    • Property Taxes of Alien Landlords Act – 765 ILCS 725

    • Retaliatory Eviction Act – 765 ILCS 720

    • Residential Tenants’ Right to Repair Act – 765 ILCS 742

    • Rent Concession Act – 765 ILCS 730

    • Rental Property Utility Service Act – 765 ILCS 735

    • Safe Homes Act – 765 ILCS 750

    • Tenant Utility Payment Disclosure Act – 765 ILCS 740

  • Security Deposit

    • Security deposit maximum: there is no limit for the security deposit maximum. On security deposit interest, a landlord who owns more than 25 units must pay interest for the deposits held for more than six months. The interest rate has to match the rate payable by savings accounts held at the largest commercial bank in the state of Illinois.

    • There are no statutes for separate security deposit bank accounts, per deposits or additional fees and record keeping of the deposit withholdings.

    • The deadline for returning the security deposit is between 30 and45 days.

    • There should be a written description or an itemized list of damages and the charges.

  • Lease, Fees, and Rent

    • There are no statutes stipulating rent increase notices, late fees, or returned check fees.

    • The tenant can withhold rent for failure to provide essential services

    • The tenant can repair and deduct rent although the deductions shouldn’t exceed one-half of the rent or $500.

    • The landlord can recover court and attorney fees

    • The landlord must make a reasonable attempt to mitigate damages to the lessee, including any attempts to re-rent.

  • Notices and Entry

    • There is a 60-days’ notice of termination of yearly leases

    • There is a 30-days’ notice for the termination of monthly leases

    • There is a 7-days’ notice for the termination of weekly leases

    • There are no statutes for the giving notice of date or time for moveout inspections or required notices before entry.

    • The eviction notice for nonpayment is five days and ten days for a lease violation.

    • Is entry allowed with notice for repairs and maintenance if they are non-emergency? Well, there are no statutes.

    • There are also no statutes stipulating if the entry is allowed during a tenant’s extended absence or emergency entry without notice.

    • There is also no statute for whether or not notice should be given to tenants for pesticide use.

    • Lockouts and utility shutoffs aren’t allowed.

  • Disclosures and Miscellaneous Notes

    • According to the Illinois rental lease agreement, the landlord must change the locks every time a house is vacated or in between tenants.

    • The landlord should provide a formula for dividing up utilities among multiple tenants.

    • If there are units on the 2nd floor or lower, the landlord should disclose any existence of Radon.

    • The tenant may terminate the lease early in case of special circumstances including sexual assault, domestic violence or sexual abuse.

    • The landlord, must, upon request by a domestic violence victim, change the locks.

    • The landlord may require that the tenants provide proof of domestic violence status from the tenants.

    • The landlord must not disclose their status as domestic violence victims to anyone.

    • If the property is abandoned, the tenant may harvest and seize crops in case of unpaid rent.

    • The landlord shouldn’t terminate or refuse to renew the lease or terminate it if a tenant files an official complaint to the authorities.

  • Court-Related matters

    • The small claims court limits stand at $10,000

    • Eviction cases are allowed

  • Business Licenses

    • There is no state-wide statute requiring business licenses.

If you’d like to fill in your Illinois rental lease agreement form online, do so here.