Sample Nevada Rental Lease Agreement
Nevada Rental Lease Agreement
Do you know what is worse than going through a long list of rental laws and the landlord and tenant laws applicable to rental units – finding yourself on the wrong side of those laws and paying dearly for your mistakes or ignorance? In this article, we outline the crucial lease agreement laws which will ensure that you fill our Nevada rental lease agreement when confident of what to expect.
Official Rules and Regulations
Title 3, Chapter 40 – Actions and Proceedings in Particular Cases Concerning Property
Title 10, Chapter 18 – Discrimination in Housing; Landlord and Tenant
Title 10, Chapter 18A – Landlord and Tenant: Dwellings
Title 10, Chapter 18B – Landlord and Tenant: Manufactured Home Parks
Title 10, Chapter 18C – Landlord and Tenant: Commercial Premises
In the state of Nevada, the security deposit maximum equals three months of rent
No statute stipulates what happens to the security deposit interest, pet deposits, and additional amounts, or the need for separate security deposit bank account.
In the case of non-refundable fees, the landlord has to disclose and explain the non-refundable fees, often allowed for cleaning in the Nevada rental lease agreement
The deadline for returning the security deposit to the landlord is 30 days after the termination of the lease or after the tenant moves out.
A landlord needs to prepare a written description and an itemized list of charges and damages.
No statute is available for record keeping of the deposit withholdings.
Rent, Lease, and Fees
The rent increase notice is given 45 days. But in case of periodic tenancies, the notice is less than 1 month and 15 days for rental payment to be increased.
No statute governs late fees, prepaid rent or returned check fees.
The tenant can withhold rent if the landlord fails to provide essential services like water and heating
The tenant can repair and deduct rent
The laws don’t stipulate if the landlord can recover the court and the attorney fees.
The landlord should make a reasonable attempt to mitigate any damages to the lessee, including, making attempts to re-rent.
Unless a tenant pays rent weekly, the hold-over converts into month to month payments.
Notices and entry
No statute stipulates if notice should be given for the termination of yearly leases. However, a 30-day notice should be given for the termination of monthly leases.
For weekly leases, a 7-day lease termination notice is necessary.
No statute stipulates how and when the notice for the date and time of moveout is to be issued.
The notice of termination or tenancy or eviction for nonpayment is 5 days.
The eviction notice to tenants for lease violation is 5 days but, the tenant could try to remedy the issues within the first three days or, the landlord gets to file for an eviction.
A 24-hour notice is required before entry
A 24-hour notice is acceptable as notice for the maintenance and repairs of non-emergency issues.
No statute highlights if the entry is allowed during a tenant’s extended absence or if notice should be given to tenants for pesticide use.
Emergency entry is acceptable without any notice
Lockout and utility shutoffs aren’t allowed.
Disclosures and Miscellaneous Rental Rules
Landlord and tenant Duties
The tenants may display the US flag
The landlord should give a detailed move-in checklist
The landlord needs to inform the tenant in writing if the property is about to be foreclosed.
The landlord should include verbiage in the lease summarizing the rules in the maintenance and permitting of a nuisance in the unit, and the applicable penalties
In the lease, the landlord should explain the conditions for refunding the deposit
Besides normal wear and tear, the premises should be returned to the landlord in the same state it was in at the beginning of the tenancy
Domestic violence victims
There should be special protection for domestic violence victims, and there should be special rules for lease termination, and other rental rights.
Retaliation includes eviction lawsuits, refusal to renew, tenancy termination, rent increase, and a decrease in services.
Retaliation is a state only assumed if the landlord takes action after a tenant complains to the landlord about the illegality or the unsafe living conditions.
For retaliation, a tenant has to join a tenant union or organize one to raise his or her views. Note that retaliation is only assumed if the landlord takes such action after the tenant exercises their legal rights, as allowed by the state of Nevada.
No state-wide statute requires business licenses from the landlord but, the local cities and counties may have different requirements.
In the state of Nevada, the small claims court limits stand at $7,500 statewide, but in some cities, the limits could be lower.
Eviction cases aren’t allowed in the small claim court.
You can get help from small claims courts like Clark County, Churchill, Henderson, Humboldt, Pahrump, and Washoe County Courts. The Judiciary system and the office of the attorney general are other options.
Now that you know what is expected of you, how getting or Nevada rental lease agreement form online today?
NV Rental Lease Agreement
Personalize your Rental Lease Agreement template.
Print or download in minutes.